Hauraki Gulf co-governance proposals

maomao_fish125_177.jpgA report recommending co-governance of the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park was tabled at the Hauraki Gulf Forum meeting on Monday 20th February. If the report's recommendations are accepted, the committee governing the Hauraki Gulf marine park will, in future, comprise equal numbers of tribal trust appointees and other members representing the wider community. While five members will be appointed by the Minister of Conservation only three will directly represent the million or so inhabitants of Auckland, Thames-Coromandel and Hauraki. 

Under such arrangements, the interests of the wider community encompassing a broad range of interests (such as recreational fishers versus environmentalists) will almost always be subjugated to iwi interests, as tribal representatives (whose sole mandate is to represent narrow tribal self-interest) vote en-bloc. So called "co-governance" in practice amounts to tribal rule.

 

A copy of the "Hauraki Gulf Forum, Governance review and recommendations" report can be accessed here.

The "Sea Change" - marine spatial plan

Hand in hand with the Hauraki Gulf governance recommendations, the Forum has also released the Sea Change (Tai Timu Tai Pari) Marine Spatial Plan which proposes the establishment of 'ahu-moana' zones around the entire Gulf coastline (including offshore islands) extending 1km out to sea. The Sea Change plan also proposes management by 50% tribal trust appointees and 50% community representatives, with no mention of how community representatives would be appointed. Under Sea Change, governing committees would have the power to prohibit recreational and commercial fishing wholly or partially over any area of "their" zone, and over any or all fish species, based on "cultural values" (with no need for scientific evidence).

To read a copy of the Sea Change (Tai Timu Tai Pari) Marine Spatial Plan click here

If you wish governance of the Hauraki Gulf area to remain in control of the wider community, please speak up. 

Tell your local representatives that you wholly reject co-governance arrangements which are being forced onto the nation without our consent. The contact details for members of the Hauraki Gulf Forum are listed below.

Member Representative Contact email
Minister of Conservation Mr Andrew Baucke,Hon Maggie Barry Maggie.Barry@parliament.govt.nz
Minister of Primary Industries Mr Steve Halley,Hon Nathan Guy n.guy@ministers.govt.nz
Maori Affairs Mr Leo Koziol,Hon Te Ururoa Flavell teururoa.flavell@parliament.govt.nz
Auckland Council Cr Richard Hills richard.hills@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Auckland Council Cr John Watson john.watson@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Auckland Council Cr Michael Lee mike.lee@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Auckland Council Cr Chris Darby chris.darby@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Auckland Council Cr Wayne Walker wayne.walker@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Auckland Council Great Barrier Local Board Mr Jeff Cleave jeff.cleave@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Auckland Council Waiheke Local Board Mr John Meeuwsen John.Meeuwsen@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Hauraki District Council Mayor John Tregidga (Chairman) John.Tregidga@hauraki-dc.govt.nz
MatamataPiako District Council Cr Paul Cronin paulwilliamcronin@gmail.com
ThamesCoromandel District Council Mayor Sandra Goudie sandra.goudie@tcdc.govt.nz
Waikato District Council Cr Rob McGuire rob.mcguire@waidc.govt.nz
Waikato Regional Council Cr Dal Minogue dal.minogue@waikatoregion.govt.nz

 

Democracy Action

For further details contact Democracy Action: www.democracyaction.org.nz

Democracy Action is an Auckland based community group, established to champion the fundamental importance of democracy and equality of citizenship in New Zealand.

Hauraki_gulf_map_550_x_743.png


Donate

connect

get updates